The Fruit(s) of Our Labor

An overview of Murray Family Farms in Bakersfield, CA.

An overview of Murray Family Farms in Bakersfield, CA.

It’s no secret that I love California. It has sunshine, beauty, history and rich diverse culture that can be found statewide. And while I love the stereotypical California (beaches, L.A./Hollywood…all that jazz) it’s really the Central Valley that has my heart. Born and raised amongst the dusty agriculture pollution and the sounds of twangy country music, this place really does grown on you after awhile. I never really appreciated here I was from until I left it. Β Today my family and I went berry picking and I can think of no other activity that represents the heart of the Central Valley more.

Ripening blackberries hang on to branches at Murray Family Farms in Bakersfield, CA.

Ripening blackberries hang on to branches at Murray Family Farms in Bakersfield, CA.

Murray berries, blueberries, blackberries, strawberries, olallieberries and stone fruit are just some of the bounty that can be picked at Murray Family Farms in Bakersfield, CA.

Murray berries, blueberries, blackberries, strawberries, olallieberries and stone fruit are just some of the bounty that can be picked at Murray Family Farms in Bakersfield, CA.

Strawberries-my favorite :)

Strawberries-my favorite πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

