Week 13-Praying for America.

This week has not been an easy one for our nation. Monday began with tragedy at the Boston Marathon. Yesterday an explosion occurred at a power plant in Waco, Texas. The President was sent a letter laced with poison. Less than 2 hours ago a police officer was shot and killed at MIT

April has proved to be a difficult month for this country.The beginning of this week marked the anniversaries of Waco Massacre (April 19, 1993), the Oklahoma City Bombing (April 19, 1995), the massacre at Columbine High School (April 20, 1999) and the mass shootings that occurred at Virginia Tech (April 17, 2007).

I was alive for all of these tragedies. I don’t have any recollection of the first two and have faint memories of Columbine. We had family friends that recently moved to Colorado and I just remember my mom crying on the phone to them. Mostly what I remember is what I learned years later in school. 

But now there are three more events to add to this list and I will remember them. Everyone has that event in their life where they never forget where they are or what they were doing hen they first heard. For my dad, this event is when he first heard of JFK’s death. He specifically remembers that after the news anchor announced the president had been shot, that he removed his glasses to wipe tears from his eyes.

I remember 9/11 like it was yesterday. I was 8 going on 9 and in 3rd grade. I walked into the kitchen for breakfast and my mom immediately shushed me so she could hear the news that was on coming in on our radio. We ran to the room where the tv was and watched the news. We watched as the second tower was hit. 

I will remember this week just as well as I remember 9/11. I am much older now. But does that mean I still understand it? Not at all. I am shocked. I am dumbfounded. I don’t understand. What is happening? What is going in America? Why has such evil come out in full force?

The journalist in me wants to know the truth. The humanitarian in me cries at the pictures of maimed bodies and the thought of parents having to bury their children. 

It is an overwhelming time in our country right now. Here’s hoping that these April Showers, will eventually bring May Flowers. 

Tonight, I am praying for America. 

Cheers,

–Mary 

Leave a Reply

