Week 13-Prayers for Boston

Today at the Boston Marathon, an act of terror was committed. By whom we don’t know. Nor do we know why. 

I first learned of the tragedy through a notification from my New York Times app on my iPhone. I told my roommate who then immediately grabbed the remote and turned on the news. As I watched this event unfold, I was dumbfounded. Who has so much evil in their heart that they want to commit such an act? What possess a person to be okay with creating such sorrow and loss for friends and families?  I can’t help but think that the world is getting uglier. 

As the events of today continue to unfold, I pray for the suffering. I pray for the friends who are worrying, the parents who are scared, the significant others who feel loss, and the children who are too young to understand. I express gratitude toward those willing to help and to the heroes who are making sacrifices. I pray for the Federal Government and the Massachusetts State government that they remain rational and calm.

I pray for the fallen.

I pray for those that committed this unthinkable action. May you learn to be at peace with the demons that haunt you. 

And I pray a special prayer for the journalists who capture and tell this story. May they seek only   truth and accuracy. May they aid in being a vigilante for justice. 

This coverage brought me to tears. 

In true Bostonian Fashion–

Cheers, 

–Mary 

 

John 14:27 
Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

 

Leave a Reply

