Week 12-Broadcast? Mmm, Betta’ Not

For those of you who don’t quite understand the title of my blog today, you are missing out on some great cinematic theatrics. The title is in reference to the glorious “Fat Amy” from the movie Pitch Perfect. Check it out and pay special attention to the clip starting at 30 seconds. That’s when the magic begins.

Anyway…when I graduated from high school, I gave a speech at our Baccalaureate ceremony.  I was on the speech and debate team all four years of high school and never had any issues with public speaking. I actually find that public speaking comes natural to me. Maybe I just like to talk? Anyways, after that speech, a friend of the family/wife of my advisor who just so happens to write a column for The Bakersfield Californian, (sorry if that was confusing, just know that he is a journalist) approached me after the ceremony.  He knew I was going to school for journalism and he pretty much had me convinced to go into print and digital journalism. But after I gave that speech, he came up to me and said something along the lines of-“You need to go into Broadcast, you’re going to waste your time in print.”

I was definitely thrown off by his abrupt approach but I did give it some thought.

After I took a tour of the NBC afflaite station, KOMU, I seriously thought of considering making the change to Broadcast. But then when they started talking about how you have to wear three layers of liquid make-up and clothing patterns are discouraged, I was a bit turned off. I don’t want to spend the rest of my journalism carrier with people telling me what to wear. I want to spend the rest of my journalism career informing people and seeking the truth.

With all that being said, (and yes, I promise there is a point for me telling you that) in this multimedia class, we have the opportunity to work with a program called Final Cut Pro X. This is a video editing program that is actually really cool. But… I am TERRIBLE with it.  For this particular project, we also had to do voice over. Which meant that I had to listen to myself overemphasize words and vowels multiple times. I don’t know about you, but listening to myself talk is something that I can absolutely not stand. It just really bothers me and I feel like I sound like a 12 year-old.

So…my whole point in this story, was that doing this project, just further proved to me that I should not major in broadcast. Sorry it took me so long to get to this point. But, I am a writer after all.

I was talking to Shane last class and I warned him that my video was nothing to get excited over and that we should do a project with InDesign and Photoshop because those programs are my jam. Which makes sense considering I want to go into Magazine Design.

I know this post has been ramble-y. But here’s a few last things to tie it up.

There are only 4 weeks left of my sophomore year of college. And let me say, I could not be happier. This year has been difficult to say the least and I can’t wait to spend the summer back in California. Like I legitimately can hear the beach calling my name and I need to respond to it’s call ASAP. (Dramatic, I know)

I am also really looking forward to my junior year because I will be starting in my journlaism sequence and also taking more Art History classes that go  towards my minor. It also means that are only two years left of my college career. But let’s not get ahead of ourselves here…I still have these four weeks left to go.

Cheers,

Mary

Just hanging at the beach over Christmas break

I just love the Ocean ❤

Leave a Reply

