Week 5- SNOW and Blue Pictures

Image

This was probably the most exciting news I had gotten in a few weeks.  Being from California, Snow Days aren’t really something that I am familiar with.  Granted  it does snow in the Golden State, just not where I’m from. Except, the time it snowed on my 5th birthday. That was my first snow day and my only one until Friday. Needless to say I was a happy camper.

Since class was canceled on Thursday too, we didn’t get to talk about the 3 Photo-Packages (3PP) we had to turn in. For my 3PP, I went to a practice of the Mid-Missouri High Steppers. High Stepping is probably one of the coolest things I have ever seen. It combines marching, cheering, and drums to create a fun high energy show. The Missouri High Steppers are a group that was started by Rolando Barry in 1979. I got a chance to meet him and his daughter, one of the captains at the Wednesday practice. They are the nicest and most considerate people I have ever worked with as a journalist.

The team practice was held in an elementary school gym-not exactly the best lighting. Seeing that my photography skills are pretty amateur, I asked my instructor before hand what the best setting was for this kind of lighting. He told me to crank up the ISO and to use the camera in Aperture setting.  I did just that and thought I was good to go. Boy, was I wrong.

One of things my class was told to do, was to clear all the settings before taking pictures. This clears things like the White Balance (I was really concerned about this). I thought I cleared the settings, but I didn’t. So my pictures came out blue. I may or may not have started crying when I uploaded my pictures to iPhoto (Let’s go with may).

I was in a state of pure panic-my pictures were not blue when they showed up on the view screen on the actual camera, so why were they blue on iPhoto?! I pulled up the Media Data file in Photoshop to see the photo information. Turns out, my White Balance was set to Tungsten.  Which in the world of photography, is bad news bears.

It took a lot of work in Photoshop and with the help of a friend studying at Brooks Insitute in Santa Barbara, Ca, I was able to get my pictures looking less blue. I submitted the 2nd picture below for the portrait in my 3PP.

Image

This is what it looked like pre-Photoshop.

Image

This is post Photoshop-still a hint of blue but much better. It’s amazing what technology can do.

We also had to submit a close up and wide shot which you can find below.

Image

Drumsticks and Mallets

Image

Drummers

Despite the issues I ran into, this was a very fun assignment. I will be going to a few more of their practices to get audio and more pictures that I will ultimately  turn into an audio slideshow in the coming weeks. But this time, I will really know how to clear the White Balance. Here’s hoping.

Stay tuned!

Cheers,

–Mary

P.S.-I’ve really been missing my cat lately. The last time I saw her, she was wearing a cone that I affectionately called a party hat.

Just my cat and being cheesers:)

Just my cat and being I cheesers:)

Leave a Reply

