Week 3- The results of Seeing Red

I’ve never had a fancy camera of my own so you can imagine that I was pretty intimidated when Shane (my multimedia professor) asked us to get a Nikon D7000 from the J-School and says “Take a picture of something red, but don’t use the Auto setting.” I’ve toyed around with my mom’s D3000 a few times prior to this so I was familiar with the idea of a Digital SLR camera coming into this assignment. But in no way was I ready to tackle this assignment head on. Thankfully we had two days of lessons on how to use the aperture and shutter priority settings. Okay, I thought how hard could it really be to snap a few pictures of some red things?

Turns out, it’s actually really difficult.

I definitely struggled with this assignment at the beginning. But throughout the course of the week, my photos were becoming less over exposed and more in focus. I’m definitely on my way to becoming the next Ansel Adams.

Kidding. Way kidding. These are the three I ended up submitting for my assignment. Thoughts?

Cheers,

–Mary

Cans of Pizza Sauce line the windowsill of Shakespeare's Pizza in Columbia, Mo.

Cans of Pizza Sauce line the windowsill of Shakespeare’s Pizza in Columbia, Mo.

A bookmark keeps tabs on the location a young reader left off.
A bookmark keeps tabs on the location a young reader left off.

Tattered and worn TOMS are seen on a bench outside Phi Mu sorority house at the University of Missouri.

Tattered and worn TOMS are seen on a bench outside Phi Mu sorority house at the University of Missouri.

Leave a Reply

